Compensation Board Members


Board Member

Office Represented

(4 year terms)


Bud Jorgenson    



David Magel        



Bart Bartholomew       

(County Attorney)


Rick Mount        



Teresa Hardy   



Karen Berry



Denise Jardon       


         1.  There is created in each county a county compensation board which shall be composed of seven members
      who are residents of the county.  The members of the county compensation board shall be
      selected as follows:
         a.  Two members shall be appointed by the board of supervisors.
         b.  One member shall be appointed by each of the following county officers:  the county auditor, county attorney,
      county recorder, county treasurer, and county sheriff.
         2.  The members of the county compensation board shall be appointed to four-year, staggered terms of office.
      The members of the county compensation board shall not be officers or employees of the state or a political 
      subdivision of the state.  A term shall be effective on the first of July of the year of appointment and a
      vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment.
         3.  The members of the county compensation board shall receive no compensation, but they shall be reimbursed
      for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties.
         4.  The county compensation board shall elect a chairperson and vice chairperson annually from among its
      membership.  The county compensation board shall meet at the call of the chairperson or upon written request 
      of a majority of its membership.  The concurrence of a majority of the members of the county compensation board
      shall determine any matter relating to its duties.
         5.  The board of supervisors shall provide the necessary office facilities and the technical and clerical
      assistance requested by the county compensation board to carry out its duties.
         6.  The expenses of the county compensation board members, the salaries and expenses of any technical and
      clerical assistance, and the cost of providing any facilities shall be paid from the general fund of the county.  

         Section History: Early Form

         [C77, 79, 81,  340A.1, 340A.4, 340A.5, 340A.7; S81,  331.905; 81 Acts, ch 117,  904, 907; 82 Acts, ch 1104,  60] 

         Section History: Recent Form

         87 Acts, ch 227, 28 Referred to in  331.321, 331.322
Iowa State Association of Counties FY 2017 Salary Surveys

All Elected Officials          All Non-Elected Officials
Employment Salary Surveys
Employees in Elected Offices          Employees in Non-Elected Offices          Total County Employment
Benefits Salary Survey
Health          Life          Disability          Dental          Vision         
Other Surveys
Deferred Compensation          Retiree Benefits          Salary Method          Consumer Price Index   

Back to Home Page